.

Laguna Niguel Patch Celebrates 1-Year Anniversary

It has been 365 days since launching and we are happy to say we are still going strong!

It has been one year to the day since and invaded the homes of local residents.

A big thanks to all who continue to read us as well as those who have just recently discovered Patch.

In the past year we have had some big breaking news stories, including a major accident that took the life of resident  a  at a popular shopping center, a new , a mother accused of having sexual relations with several young players on her son's .

Over the past year, we have accumulated a variety of talented bloggers, ranging from  to high school students such as , who all relish the opportunity to share their opinions. I thank them all. 

Our local columnist  continues to provide insight into what it is like to be a young stroke survivor, while our movie critic, never misses a week of sharing his views—good or bad.

Laguna Niguel Patch also has a wonderful array of dedicated writers, including  who has been a staple since day one, and  who continues to scour the city for news.  crime blotter and columnist Cheryl Knight makes sure to comb the O.C. Sheriff's files twice a week for the latest crime items.

Talented photographer is a force to be reckoned with and someone I am proud to work with daily. I cherish him not only for his  and endless ideas, but also his unwavering dedication. 

And, of course, Laguna Niguel Patch would not continue to thrive if it weren't for the input of its many readers who provide stories, ideas, comments and so much more day in and day out.

As we move ahead, I encourage you to send your ideas, comments, concerns and anything else you wish to share to Debbie.Sklar@Patch.com.

I remain more than honored to bring the residents of this great city the news coverage they so rightly deserve.

And for that I say thanks.

Addie Carroll November 19, 2011 at 06:24 PM
Congratulations Debbie! You have done an exemplary job with our Laguna Niguel Patch! It's a pleasure to be a part of the family and wishing you continued success!~ Addie Carroll
Jodi Barber November 19, 2011 at 06:24 PM
Congratulations Debbie! It has been a pleasure working with you! Thank you for bringing me on board to allow me to express my opinions and bring awareness! I appreciate this opportunity and I hope the next year and the years after continue to be as successful as the past year for the Patch!!
Mary Knab November 19, 2011 at 06:56 PM
Happy Anniversary! I never would have imagined that an "e" newspaper could have generated the support we received after an article in the "Patch". We have had print articles done on us in the past, but Debbie's articles on homelessness in Laguna Niguel, gave us an almost instantaneous show of local support as well as offers of assistance with our program. Debbie and Barton, thank you for continuing to shine a compassionate light on the less fortunate in our community!
Ron Perrella November 19, 2011 at 08:21 PM
Congrats Dear Friend. All that is needed is a marketing campaign to boost your membership. I run into too many people who are not aware of LN Patch. You have so supportive to the 10 organizations I volunteer for and I have and will continue to send visitors your way. You took on a might task but it doesn't surprise me that you made it suceed.. Ron Perrella
Debra Campbell November 19, 2011 at 09:41 PM
Congrats on the One Year Anniversary! I am grateful for the opportunity to write here. I want to give a big shout out to all the other amazing writers, cool readers and to Debbie and the editorial staff…Thank You!! Peace and love, Debra Campbell.
Cheryl Knight November 19, 2011 at 10:36 PM
Congratulations Laguna Niguel Patch! It has been a pleasure working with you Debbie!
Barbara Doran November 19, 2011 at 10:49 PM
Congratulations on the one year anniversay of The Laguna Niguel Patch. Thank you so much for letting Gracie share her story, and thanks to everyone for reading "Days of Grace."
Debbie L. Sklar (Editor) November 20, 2011 at 12:20 AM
Thank you, Blake for your reporting and great story ideas.
Debbie L. Sklar (Editor) November 20, 2011 at 12:21 AM
Thank you, Addie!
Debbie L. Sklar (Editor) November 20, 2011 at 12:22 AM
Jodi: You are a remarkable woman and I thank you for your contributions.
Debbie L. Sklar (Editor) November 20, 2011 at 12:22 AM
Thank you, Mary. It is our pleasure to spread the word and we will continue to do so!
Debbie L. Sklar (Editor) November 20, 2011 at 12:23 AM
Ron: Thanks for the kind words and vote of confidence. It has been a pleasure working with you all of these years.
Debbie L. Sklar (Editor) November 20, 2011 at 12:23 AM
Debra: Thank you for all your hard work and your awesome blogs! You bring something different to the site and I thank you.
Debbie L. Sklar (Editor) November 20, 2011 at 12:24 AM
Barb: We love Gracie and her stories!
Steven Bridges November 20, 2011 at 12:38 AM
Great job, Debbie, and thank you for bringing a voice to our community and a place that all other voices can be heard. The momentum is growing: we need to take control of our community. Thank you for making this happen.
Debbie L. Sklar (Editor) November 20, 2011 at 01:22 AM
Steve: What you are doing with the speed blog is amazing and your dedication is incredible.
Chris Jotblad November 20, 2011 at 03:39 AM
Great job Debbie. Keep up the good work as we go into our 2nd year. May LN patch have a growing readership in 2012.
James Plunkett November 20, 2011 at 04:41 PM
Congratulations, Debbie. In my opinion, the Laguna Niguel Patch is the BEST Patch. I'm really happy to be part of the team.
Debbie L. Sklar (Editor) November 20, 2011 at 07:16 PM
Thansk Chris! I am so happy to have you on the team. You do a great job bringing readers the latest in foreclosures and sold homes every week.
Debbie L. Sklar (Editor) November 20, 2011 at 07:17 PM
James: Your movie reviews just keep getting better and better. I know LN Patch readers enjoy them every week as much as I do.
Donna Stellhorn November 20, 2011 at 08:05 PM
Happy Birthday Laguna Niguel Patch! I'm so honored to be part of it. Debbie, you do a fantastic job. I see many happy, successful years to come.
Norm Bour November 20, 2011 at 09:15 PM
As a Laguna Niguel resident since 1986 it's been a great place to live and learn, do business and meet great people. I am proud to be sharing tidbits about local business and things that affects local business or things they should know. A strong business community is a strong foundation for a viable and fiscally strong city and every one of us and all our businesses can be part of our mutual long term success. Congrats on being a dedicated and on-top-of-it editor and making your team as cohesive and consistent as we are.
Debbie L. Sklar (Editor) November 20, 2011 at 10:32 PM
Norm: Thanks for great comments and your weekly biz blogs that are not only insightful but always timely.
Debbie L. Sklar (Editor) November 20, 2011 at 10:33 PM
Donna: So proud to have you as part of the team. I'm glad you "see" a long future for LN Patch!
Rosie Garcia November 21, 2011 at 02:44 AM
Congratulations on your 1 year anniversary. I can't believe I just heard about The Patch....and missed almost a whole year. I've lived in LN for almost 30 years and am finally gettting real local news, after so much frustration with the other print papers. Great job & keep up the great work all of you.
Debbie L. Sklar (Editor) November 21, 2011 at 03:06 AM
Rosie: On my goodness. So glad you found us, please spread the word and keep reading!
Becky at OI November 21, 2011 at 06:05 PM
Happy anniversary Laguna Niguel Patch! Thanks for all the local news!
Debbie L. Sklar (Editor) November 21, 2011 at 06:45 PM
Thanks Becky! and thanks for being one of our bloggers.
Agnes McGlone Swanson November 22, 2011 at 03:06 PM
Congratulations on one year Debbie and team. We are very grateful to have an outlet like the Patch to celebrate all things Laguna Niguel! Thank you for your hard work. Agnes McGlone Swanson
Debbie L. Sklar (Editor) November 22, 2011 at 10:10 PM
Agnes: Thanks for the kind words. LN Patch is happy to be here and providing news up Laguna Niguel day in and day out.

Boards

More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something