Southern Section Baseball Championships To Be Played at Dodger Stadium

CIF Southern Section announces that title games for Divisions 1-4 will be played at the ballpark in Chavez Ravine this June, while Divisions 5-7 will return to UC Riverside.

The CIF Southern Section -Ford Baseball Championships, presented by Farmers, title games in Divisions 1-4 will be held Thursday and Friday, June 2-3, at Dodger Stadium, the section office announced Wednesday.

Which division will play on which day and at what time will be determined after the May 31 semifinals games. The Los Angeles City Section champinship games will be held at the stadium on Saurday, June 4.

Last year's Southern Section Divisions 1-4 championship games were held at Storm Stadium in Lake Elsinore, home field of the Lake Elsinore Storm minor league baseball team.

The Divisions 5 through 7 championship games will return to UC Riverside on Saturday, June 4.

The 2011 high school baseball season begins with games on March 4. The regular season runs through May 13, and the playoffs begin on May 19.

Breakdown of South Orange County's baseball teams by division:

Division 1:

South Coast League: Capistrano Valley, Dana Hills, El Toro, San Clemente, Tesoro

Sunset League: Newport Harbor

Trinity League: JSerra, Santa Margarita

Division 2:

Sea View League: Aliso Niguel, Laguna Hills, Mission Viejo, San Juan Hills, Trabuco Hills

Division 3:

Pacific Coast League: Corona del Mar

Division 4:

Orange Coast League: Laguna Beach

Division 6:

Academy League: Sage Hill, St. Margaret's

San Joaquin League: Capistrano Valley Christian, Saddleback Valley Christian


More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something
See more »